top of page
Search

Maxstone's Nathan John To Release Solo Album





Maxstone front man Nathan John Fafard will be releasing his debut album through Fixed Frequency in August titled "The Ensuing Madness". Now that the album is slated for a summer release we decided to bug Nathan and see what he had to say about his venture:


"I had demoed some of these songs a few years back, I always wanted to do an album with them. The pandemic gave me the time and pushed me to focus more on music, so I started to revisit these songs along with some others that were never recorded and unfinished. I sat down with them, made some changes and brought the material into the studio with the intention of doing a stripped down record, with just vocals and guitar."


"After the guitar and vocals were tracked I had decided to experiment with more of a full band kind of sound. After laying bass to the tracks, I ended up bringing in Brett Marit for some clean leads and producer Justin Bender for percussion and keys on some of the songs. The last touch was some string arrangements on a couple of the tracks and now I’m really happy that I went the extra mile for a more diverse approach. The songs touch on a variety of subjects, from life and death, to fighting for what’s important to you, to love and loss. On the last track, I decided to cover Bad Religion’s “Sorrow” after seeing Jim Lindburg (Pennywise) just playing it in his living room in an online video. It really inspired me to track a version of the song, and I feel it translates very well acoustically while capturing the feel of the album."


You can listen to "Down Below Us" from the Fixed Frequency Label Sampler by clicking on the album cover below


65 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page